Church Council

The Church Council consists of chairpersons or representatives of all committees and
other church groups. It is chaired by a member of the Standing Committee, and it meets monthly during the church year. The purpose of the Church Council is allow committee representatives a chance to network, coordinate efforts, give support to and share experiences of all committees and groups. Faith in Action Grants are voted on and approved at Church Council meetings.

Russ Graham is the Chair of Church Council for the 2014-2015 year. Church Council meets on the first Thursday of the month at 7pm. Each church committee is encouraged to send a representative to the meeting, but the meeting are open to any member of the community.

Faith in Action Grant Request Form

Standing Committee

The Standing Committee is the Church's governing board. The Standing Committee works to ensure the vitality of our community of faith. There are 10 members of the Standing Committee – nine voting members elected by the congregation and the minister, who is a non-voting member of the Committee. Standing Committee members serve a 3 year term.

The Standing Committee meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 7:00pm. Time is set aside at the beginning of every SC meeting as an open forum for members to bring forward any issues they would like to discuss.

The Standing Committee is responsible for the health and well being of First Parish. This includes maintaining communication among members and committees, managing Church property, and planning for the Church's short and long-term future. And of course members of the Standing Committee develop and manage the budget approved by the Congregation at the annual meeting.
The Human Resources Committee is a sub-committee of the Standing Committee.